40/40

40/40, the winery of Lucas Pfister, is located in Ugarteche, a small town directly on the 40th southern latitude and on the famous Ruta 40, which leads from the northern edge of Argentina down to Tierra del Fuego. In the slattal shadow of snow -covered mountains, he wrinkles "wines without make -up" from grape varieties that are deeply connected to Argentina's viticulture history and that show that the idea of ​​bringing unadulterated wines into the bottle has long since grasped the whole world.

Lucas Pfister is at home in many worlds. Despite the name, he is born in Argentine. He also lives there from October to March, during the meridional winter, which is known to be quite hot and in which the grapes thrive for his 40/40 series. From April to September, on the other hand, he can be found in South Tyrol, where he works at the Biodynamic Winery of Alois Lated during the warm season. In the previous year he studied ÖNOLOGE in Bordeaux, Montpellier and Lisbon and was responsible for Saint-Emilion, in Margaret River in Western Australia And in Baden. 

The experiences that he gained there and there flow into his 40/40 (Cuarenta/Cuarenta) wine project, with which he started at home in Ugarteche in 2015. There he branched off two hectares at the 60 hectare winery of his parents, on the five terraces of which he implements his own ideas. In a few words, they are committed to the principles of the natural wine movement, but also have a deep reference to the natural and cultural requirements of its rather spectacular environment. 

The soils of his vineyards are amazingly heterogeneous. Between rubble and sand there are always loamy sections. The climate, on the other hand, is stable hot and dust dry. In order to counteract the often extremely high temperatures, Lucas educates its vines in the classic parral system, a completely closed pergola that donates shadows necessary to the grapes. 

He also floods his vineyards - also a tradition in Argentine viticulture - in order to give them water at least occasionally. 

In his 40/44 40 series, Lucas kits a total of eight wines, whereby everyone comes from biological management and fermented with wild yeasts, but three of them-his otro Andar line-are decimated natural wines. For this purpose, he only uses grape varieties that are traditionally connected to Argentina (Torrontes, Malbec, Bonarda) and thanks to the desert -like conditions all without a base. 

Lucas reads her early in the year to maintain her freshness and do not have to add acid, does not pay the grapes, keeps the mash stand time in red wines, but also leaves his torrontes in contact with the shells (approx. Three For days) - although you should imagine your maceration more like tea ceremonies: there are very gentle extractions at rather cooler temperatures, which serve above all to give the wines some additional structure and flavors. 

The three wines are expanded into used French barriques for over 12 months. They are roughly filtered before bottling and sulfurized minimally.

The wines of 40/40

Otro Andar Malbec-Bonarda

40/40

40/40, das Weingut von Lucas Pfister, liegt in Ugarteche, einem kleinen Ort direkt am 40. südlichen Breitengrad und an der berühmten Ruta 40, die von den Nordanden Argentiniens bis hinunter nach Feuerland führt. Im Schlagschatten schneebedeckter Berge keltert er "Weine ohne Schminke" aus Rebsorten, die zutiefst mit der Weinbaugeschichte Argentiniens verbunden sind und die zeigen, dass die Idee, unverfälschte Weine in die Flasche zu bringen, längst die ganze Welt erfasst hat.

Lucas Pfister ist in vielen Welten zu Hause. Er ist, dem Namen zum Trotz, gebürtiger Argentinier. Dort lebt er auch von Oktober bis März, während des meridionalen Winters, der bekanntlich recht heiß ist und in dem die Trauben für seine 40/40-Serie gedeihen. Von April bis September ist er dagegen in Südtirol anzutreffen, wo er während der warmen Jahreszeit am biodynamischen Weingut von Alois Lageder werkt. In den Jahren davor studierte er Önologie in Bordeaux, Montpellier und Lissabon und hospitierte in Saint-Emilion, in Margaret River in Westaustralien und im Badischen.  

Die Erfahrungen, die er da wie dort gesammelt hat, fließen in sein 40/40 (cuarenta/cuarenta) Weinprojekt ein, mit dem er 2015 bei sich zu Hause in Ugarteche durchstartete. Dort hat er sich am gut 60 Hektar großen Weingut seiner Eltern zwei Hektar abgezweigt, auf deren fünf Terrassen er seine eigenen Ideen umsetzt. Die sind in wenigen Worten den Grundsätzen der Naturweinbewegung verpflichtet, haben aber auch einen tiefen Bezug zu den natürlichen und kulturellen Voraussetzungen seiner recht spektakulären Umgebung. 

Die Böden seiner Weingärten sind erstaunlich heterogen. Zwischen Geröll und Sand finden sich auch immer wieder lehmige Abschnitte. Das Klima ist hingegen stabil heiß und staubtrocken. Um den oft extrem hohen Temperaturen entgegenzusteuern, erzieht Lucas seine Reben im klassischen Parral-System, einer komplett geschlossenen Pergola, die den Trauben notwendigen Schatten spendet. 

Zudem flutet er – auch das eine Tradition im argentinischen Weinbau – bisweilen seine Weingärten, um ihnen zumindest gelegentlich Wasser zukommen zu lassen. 

In seiner 40/40-Serie keltert Lucas insgesamt acht Weine, wobei alle aus biologischer Bewirtschaftung stammen und mit wilden Hefen vergoren werden, drei davon aber – seine Otro Andar Linie – dezidierte Naturweine sind. Dafür verwendet er ausschließlich Rebsorten, die man traditionellerweise mit Argentinien verbindet (Torrontes, Malbec, Bonarda) und die dank der wüstenartigen Bedingungen allesamt ohne Unterlagsreben auskommen. 

Lucas liest sie früh im Jahr, um ihre Frische zu erhalten und keine Säure zusetzen zu müssen, entrappt die Trauben nicht, hält die Maischestandzeit bei Rotweinen eher kurz, belässt aber auch seinen Torrontes für ein paar Tage in Kontakt mit den Schalen (ca. drei Tage lang) – wobei man sich seine Mazeration eher wie Teeinfusionen vorstellen sollte: es sind ganz sanfte Extraktionen bei eher kühleren Temperaturen, die vor allem dazu dienen, den Weinen etwas zusätzliche Struktur und Aromen zu verleihen. 

Ausgebaut werden die drei Weine jeweils über 12 Monate in gebrauchten französischen Barriques.  Sie werden vor der Abfüllung grob gefiltert und minimal geschwefelt.

Die Weine von 40/40

OTRO ANDAR MALBEC

€ 19,90

Otro Andar malbec-Bonarda

€ 19,90